Just a little bit of photoshop magic…

As you probably already know, Stud has all the picture taking talents in this dynamic duo.  I really do want to learn all of his tricks when he’s fixing up the pictures after the shot but I struggle with it a little bit.  I usually watch him while he works on a picture but when he’s doing little things here and there it looks like nothing is happening.  Then all of a sudden I look at the big picture and it’s amazing!!  The two biggest obstacles I have – his GIMP program is in Portuguese so when I’m watching I can’t understand the names of the tools. Two – my patience level can be a huge issue – I sometimes give up if something isn’t “perfect” right away.  Three – when Stud’s not around and I break open Gimp – nothing happens.  I touch tools and try different things and it just doesn’t work for me.  I’m a smart person – honest lol and I really want to do this.  Maybe I just don’t think I can make pictures as nice as his.

I mean of course I can take pictures but it’s that little bit of magic that happens afterwards that really makes the difference – at least in my opinion.  One of my good friends in SL told me about picmonkey – which is great but I really hope to take it to the next level. I will continue to work on it and see what happens.  I really am interested – I just need to relax and find some patience.  Patiennnnnnnce – come here patience.  Come here Patience!!! COME HERE NOW PATIENCE!!!!!

I thought I would share with you a picture that I took yesterday.  I thought it turned out really well.  I used shadows in SL and took my time to find a really nice windlight.  I showed the picture to Stud last night and he fixed it up in GIMP.  It’s a perfect example of how just a little bit of magic made a nice picture look amazing.

Photo: Katie Brucato

Photo: A Katie and Stud Collaboration

Leave a Reply

